Your Basket
Your shopping basket is empty View basket
Easy
Extensions
Free
exchanges
E-Voucher
to your inbox
Easy Extensions & Exchanges

Our vouchers offer freedom and flexibility with validity for 20 months*!

Two Night Break for Two at The Royal Lodge, Herefordshire 10940198

4.5 out of 5 (based on 158 reviews)
£99
Location: Ross-on-Wye - Herefordshire
For 2 people
Valid for 20 months
Best Price Guarantee

Overview

Set in the idyllic Wye Valley on the outskirts of the Royal Forest of Dean, The Royal Lodge serves as the perfect location for a tranquil break where you can truly relax and unwind. With beautiful views of the Magnolia tree-lined garden and River Wye, you and your guest will experience charm and comfort, with a stylish en suite bedroom and access to the guest lounge and hotel restaurant. Built in 1876, the former royal hunting lodge has been a hotel since the 1920s and provides guests with an ideal location for enjoying outdoor activities including canoeing, cycling, kayaking and golf.

What's included?
  • Two nights' accommodation for two people
What do I need to know?
  • Available week-round from April - September and week-days only from October - March
  • Please ensure you inform the hotel of any dietary requirements in advance
  • Check-in is from 3pm and check-out is by 10am
  • Your voucher allocates you a standard room - upgrades (where available) can be made with an additional surcharge
  • The hotel is pet-friendly, with allocated dog-friendly rooms (where available) that can be requested at time of booking for an additional surcharge
  • All dates are subject to availability

Locations

This experience is available at
Already got this voucher?
Customer Reviews
4.5 out of 5 (based on 158 reviews)
149 out of 158 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
lovelly break
31 October 2020
Set in a beutifull location by the river Wye, the hotel staff are very pleasant and helpful. Our room was just as expected as we had our dog with us and we had a riverside view. There are plenty of walks to do without leaving the area and many sights to be seen. The food in the hotel was very good value and very tasty, the full breakfast is well worth having. Thank you very much to all of the staff who have gone that extra mile to make the stay safe from the pandemic that has got amongst us. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we will return!
Brian and kath
Age: Over 65
Occasion: Birthday
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Chip
26 October 2020
Good service and position of property as long as you are looking to be in the middle of nowhere
Age: 55-64
Occasion: Christmas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Fantastic location...not to be missed
16 October 2020
I telephoned the day before we went and booked for the two following days. The booking process was easy, though the confirmation email did not arrive as the receptionist mis-spelled my email address. The hotel location is absolutely fantastic with scenery to die for. Food was so so and expensive, but the service was very good and all staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was much better than I had anticipated, with a great view over the river. I would strongly recommend this location.
Kevin
Age: 55-64
Occasion: Just because!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Hard work!
02 April 2020
We were given the hotel stay voucher at Christmas; it expired in May. In their advertisements, many of the hotels had limitations on the dates / days of the week we could book. I was trying to book for midweek Feb / March - over a big geographical area as we weren't fussy where we went - and contacted at least twelve different venues. Most didn't respond at all. Of those that did, none could offer us suitable dates unless we were willing to pay for an upgrade. The whole point of my mother's present to us was that we could have a free break, so I declined the upgrades. I was almost at the point of giving up trying wehen one finally said they had "one standard voucher room" left (although their only seemed to be one other party actually staying, once we were there). Even then, we were pressured to upgrade. I'm assuming the hotels make very little from the voucher scheme. We did have a technical problem with the voucher. The customer service team at Buyagift were brilliant at sorting it out. I can't criticise them; our complaint was just the problems of trying to find availability without paying extra for our gift. I would recommend anyone else to give themselves about 6 weeks to book a hotel via the voucher. And you'll probably need to be very flexibile about where you go with it. In fact, if you are tempted to give someone a night or two away as a gift, might be better to give them a cheque instead!
Response from Buyagift
By Lucy, Customer Services, 16 Jun 2020
Hi there, We are very sorry to hear you had such trouble making a booking, we always try and ensure the booking process is as straight forward as possible, sorry again this was not the case. Your comments have been passed on to our management team to review and ensure future improvements are made. Please do let me know if there is anything else we can do to help!
Inca
Age: 55-64
Occasion: Christmas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Fabulous Gift
12 March 2020
Had a lovey two days away in Symonds Yat, fabulous place friendly staff and great food
Elaine
Age: 55-64
Occasion: Christmas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Lovely treat
02 March 2020
Very friendly staff and amazing location
Katie
Age: 55-64
Occasion: Other occasion
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Thoughtful Birthday Gift
20 September 2019
Lovely surpirse to choose a 2 night mini break from dozens of venues. We chose this hotel based on the stunning area its in. Situation of hotel with breath taking views and gorgeous weather has really made it a lovely break. Hotel staff very friendly - basic accommodation but very clean and perfectly acceptable for a short stay. Food a tad on the expensive side but very generous portions and tasty enough.
Helen
Age: 55-64
Occasion: Birthday
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Never Again
19 September 2019
We have stayed at the Royal Lodge on many many occasions over the past 25 years. This will be the last time. The room we were in had nice views but had a water tank somewhere by it and during the quiet of night there was either water running all the time or even worse random gurgling.. it was so bad we bought earplugs for the next night. Also breakfast at £14.95 is a total ripoff !! other people at the lodge were taking their own cereals to eat in the room. A great shame as its a great venue with lovely walks and scenery.
Response from Buyagift
By Lynsey, Customer Services, 23 Sep 2019
Hi there, thanks for leaving a review about your recent experience. I am sorry to hear the room didn't meet your expectations, we'd always recommend mentioning any problems on the day of your experience to allow the hotel the opportunity to ensure you are left happy at the end of your stay! I'll be sure to pass your comments across to the hotel so they can make improvements where possible to ensure future visits are more enjoyable.
John
Age: Over 65
Occasion: Birthday
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
A special gift
20 July 2019
A lovely venue in a very special location. Every member of staff during our stay couldn't have been more helpful. We loved it.
Frank
Age: 55-64
Occasion: Christmas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Chilled out
17 July 2019
We had a very relaxing few days away, location was just perfect for walking and not to far away for sightseeing, room was more than adequate, we brought our little dog and she was made very welcome, all in all a lovely couple of days and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.
June
Age: Over 65
Occasion: Christmas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Two Night Break for Two at The Royal Lodge, Herefordshire
£99